Web Content Viewer

Star of Life Awards Honor OSU Doctor, Other Ohio EMS Providers

(COLUMBUS, Ohio) – An Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center for Emergency Medical Services (EMS) doctor received the highest honor today during the EMS Star of Life Awards ceremony. Presented by the Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Division of EMS, the State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services (EMFTS) and the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (Ohio ACEP), the awards recognize Ohio’s outstanding prehospital providers.

“The service of EMS personnel is essential to our lives, and they play a critical role in delivering vital emergency services to all Ohioans,” said Ohio EMS Executive Director Rob Wagoner. “The Star of Life Awards exemplify the commitment and dedication of the over 41,000 EMS providers in Ohio, who provide an essential community service every day.” 

Michael Dick, M.D., received the Jack B. Liberator Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Dick has dedicated over 40 years to emergency medical care. He joined the OSU faculty in 1993, where he’s made an outstanding impact on the clinical practices in the community of EMS giving lectures to broad EMS audiences.

He has championed many EMS programs such as stroke, trauma, and cardiac protocols and Project DAWN (Deaths Avoided With Naxolone) that prevents deaths using Naloxone (also known as Narcan). Naloxone is a medication that can reverse an overdose caused by an opioid drug (heroin, fentanyl, or prescription pain medications). He started the first emergency department Naloxone distribution program in Franklin County in 2015 that is now considered a standard of care. He is revered as an expert clinician and still serves as an outstanding resource for the medical community.

The Ohio EMS Star of Life Awards bring together local communities and medical personnel to honor the dedication of those who provide the day-to-day lifesaving services on medicine's front lines.

Ohio EMS Star of Life Awards recipients are:

Ohio EMS Stars

-Fredericktown (Knox County) Community Joint Emergency Ambulance District

-Highland Township (Defiance County) Fire Department

-Huber Heights (Montgomery County) Fire Division

-Kimberly Mason, Paramedic & Lifecare Ambulance Inc.

-Maumee (Lucas County) Fire Department

-Mercer County EMS

-Richfield (Summit County) Fire Department

Ohio EMS Agency of the Year

-Akron (Summit County) Fire Department EMS

Ohio EMS Provider of the Year

-Stephanie Ann Volkert, RN EMT-P, Tri-Division Ambulance

Ohio EMS Medical Director of the Year                 

-Andrew Garlisi, M.D. University Hospitals

Frank Giampetro Distinguished EMS Educator Award

-Diane Bunker, Assistant Chief, Randolph Township (Portage County) Volunteer Fire Department

Jack B. Liberator Lifetime Achievement Award

-Michael Dick, M.D., The Ohio State University Center for Emergency Medical Services

Complete narratives of Star of Life Awards recipients can be viewed at Star of Life Awards.