Pursuant to OAC 4765-9-01, within 14 days of the final sentencing of any criminal offense, the certificate holder must provide written notification to the Division of EMS of such offense. The certificate holder may use the form below.
An EMS certificate holder shall, within 60 days of the final sentencing of any criminal offense, provide the division with the following:
Pursuant to OAC 4765-22-01, within 14 days of the final sentencing of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, any misdemeanor committed in the course of practice, or any felony, provide written notification to the Division of EMS of such offense. The certificate holder may use the form below.
A person issued a fire service training certificate shall within 60 days of the final sentencing of any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, any misdemeanor committed in the course of practice, or any felony, provide the division with the following:
|Declaration of Criminal History EMS Certificates||EMS 0095||PDF Word|
|Declaration of Criminal History Fire Certificates||EMS 0101||PDF Word|
Individuals with a criminal record who are interested in obtaining an EMS or fire certification may inquire whether their criminal record disqualifies them from obtaining a certification. If you would like to make a request, you must submit your request in writing, provide details of the criminal conviction(s), and pay a fee of $25. Acceptable forms of payment are either check or money order made payable to the Ohio Treasurer of State.
Details of the criminal conviction include:
Certified court journal entries showing the indictment, criminal conviction, and sentencing, as well as the police report related to offense, must be provided to the Division of EMS. Failure to provide these records may result in a delay in processing your request.
For EMS certification, the Emergency Medical, Fire, and Transportation Services Board may deny any application for any conviction of, plea of guilty to, a judicial finding of guilt for, or a judicial finding of eligibility for treatment and/or intervention in lieu of conviction for: any felony, a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or a violation of any narcotics or controlled substance law.
For Fire certification, the Executive Director of the Board may deny any application for any felony offense or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.
Whether a conviction is disqualifying will depend on the seriousness of the offense, the underlying facts related to the offense, length of time since the offense occurred, or any other relevant factors. Even if a criminal offense is not disqualifying, an applicant could be subject to discipline based on prior criminal convictions, which could include a suspension, fine, reprimand, or probation. It is also possible that a conviction will not result in discipline.
Individuals interested in a determination of whether their criminal conviction is disqualifying may submit their request to the Division of Emergency Medical Services at:
Division of Emergency Medical Services
Office of Investigative Services
P.O. Box 182073
Columbus, Ohio 43218-2073
For questions, please email the Office of Investigative Services or call (614) 466-9447 or (800) 233-0785.
Email the Investigations, Hearings & Compliance Section
Or call (614) 466-9447 or (800) 233-0785
Get the latest news and updates directly in your inbox.