Web Content Viewer

Agency Directory

The Ohio Division of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) is the “administrative arm” of the State Board of Emergency Medical, Fire and Transportation Services. The Division of EMS is responsible for:

  • Certification of Ohio's emergency medical service and fire service providers and instructors;
  • Accreditation and chartering of EMS and fire training institutions and approval of EMS continuing education sites;
  • Collection and analysis of EMS incident data;
  • Regulation of medical transportation services.

The Division also serves as the “lead agency” for the state’s trauma system.

EMS Administration

Rob Wagoner, Executive Director

Aaron Jennings, Deputy Director

Email: dems@dps.ohio.gov

State Medical Director

The medical director advises the board with regard to adult and pediatric trauma and emergency medical services issues.

Carol Cunningham M.D.

Email: cacunningham@dps.ohio.gov

Regional Physician Advisory Board

Ellen Owens, Coordinator

Email: rpab@dps.ohio.gov


EMS and fire certifications, public records 

Ellen Owens, Section Chief

Email: ems-firecertifications@dps.ohio.gov

Education & Testing

EMS and fire training programs (EMS accreditations, EMS continuing education sites, and chartered fire training programs), fire testing, and certification audits

Dan Swords, Section Chief

EMS & Fire Education email: EMSEducation@dps.ohio.gov

Fire Testing email: emsfireducation@dps.ohio.gov

Medical Transportation

Inspection, certification and licensure of non-emergency, emergency and air medical transportation organizations

David Fiffick, Section Chief

Email: MedicalTransportation@dps.ohio.gov

Trauma System

All issues related to trauma centers and the statewide trauma system

Email: emstrauma@dps.ohio.gov

Research & Analysis

EMS and trauma research and data analysis

Eric Mays, Section Chief

Email: emsdata@dps.ohio.gov

Investigation & Discipline

Investigations, hearings, and compliance

Joel Demory, Section Chief

Email: emsinvestigations@dps.ohio.gov


EMS grants

Johanna Burgess, Grants Administrator

Email: EMSGrants@dps.ohio.gov